WASHINGTON, DC – U.S. Senators Amy Klobuchar and Al Franken, and Representatives Collin Peterson, Betty McCollum, Keith Ellison, Tim Walz, Rick Nolan, Erik Paulsen, Tom Emmer, and Jason Lewis today released the following statement on the approval of Minnesota’s reinsurance waiver:

“We are disappointed that our state is still facing a last-minute financial penalty for MinnesotaCare. We have requested a more detailed explanation for the reasoning behind this penalty and are exploring possible paths forward.”

In a bipartisan letter sent to the U.S. Department of Treasury and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) last week, the Minnesota Congressional Delegation urged Treasury Secretary Steve Mnuchin and HHS Secretary Tom Price to complete their consideration of Minnesota’s waiver application as soon as possible.