WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) announced that her bipartisan bill to provide relief for independent live music venues amid the pandemic was included in the updated version of the Heroes Act, the House Democrats’ comprehensive coronavirus relief bill. 

In June, Klobuchar and Senator John Cornyn (R-TX) introduced the Save Our Stages Act, which would provide Small Business Administration grants for independent live music venue operators affected by COVID-19 stay-at-home orders. These grants would provide six months of financial support to keep venues afloat, pay employees, and preserve a critical economic sector for communities across America.

“Independent venues were some of the first establishments to close down and will likely be some of the last to open. I refuse to sit by and let the music die, which is why I was proud to introduce the bipartisan Save our Stages Act in Congress,” Klobuchar said. “Now that the new coronavirus relief bill includes Save Our Stages, we are one step closer to getting small entertainment venues the help they need to make ends meet and serve our communities for generations to come. I thank Speaker Pelosi and my colleagues in the House for including this much needed relief that will help support venues across the country.” 

Small live music and entertainment venues have been hard-hit during the coronavirus pandemic, with 90 percent of venue owners, promoters, and bookers reporting they are at risk of closing without additional financial assistance and an estimated $9 billion in losses should ticket sales not resume until 2021. The newest version of the Heroes Act includes $10 billion in grant funding for independent venues. 

The Save Our Stages Act is endorsed by the National Independent Venue Association (NIVA) and the National Independent Talent Organization (NITO).

In addition to Klobuchar and Cornyn, the Save our Stages Act is cosponsored by a bipartisan group of 42 Senators. The bill is led by Representatives Peter Welch (D-VT) and Roger Williams (R-TX) in the House of Representatives, where it is cosponsored by 134 Members.