Senators will bring together a group of distinguished Minnesota leaders to head search

WASHINGTON – Today, U.S. Senators Amy Klobuchar and Tina Smith announced the formation of a selection committee to assist them in making recommendations to the President for candidates to serve as U.S. Attorney and U.S. Marshal for Minnesota.

The Committee will be chaired by John Choi, Ramsey County Attorney, with the following members: Melanie Benjamin, Chief Executive of the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe; Amran Farah, attorney at Greene Espel and former President of the Minnesota Association of Black Lawyers; David Lillehaug, former Associate Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court and a former U.S. Attorney for the District of Minnesota; Cecil Naatz, Managing Attorney of the Public Defender’s Office in Marshall, Minnesota; Thomas Smith, Training Director for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension and former Chief of Police for the St. Paul Police Department; and Patricia Tototzintle, Chief Executive Officer of Casa de Esperanza.

“These distinguished Minnesota leaders will come together to help select the next U.S. Attorney and U.S. Marshal for our state who will work to uphold justice and protect all Minnesotans,” said Senator Klobuchar. “These positions are critical to keeping our state and communities safe. I am confident that this committee will find candidates who are committed to the promise of equal justice under law for all.”

"These Minnesota community leaders will help run an inclusive and fair selection process to name top federal law enforcement candidates in Minnesota," said Senator Smith. "I'm grateful for their assistance in this important task. Identifying highly qualified candidates who are committed to fulfilling the promise of freedom and equality will help uphold our most fundamental value of equal justice for all Minnesotans and Americans."

Those wishing to be considered for the positions of United States Attorney for Minnesota or United States Marshal for Minnesota should submit a letter of interest and resume between February 8, 2021 and February 16, 2021 to the Federal Law Enforcement Selection Committee, Office of Senator Amy Klobuchar, 1200 Washington Avenue South, Suite 250, Minneapolis, MN 55415. Materials may also be e-mailed to the Committee at References will be requested at a later date.