WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Chairwoman of the Committee on Rules and Administration with oversight over federal elections and campaign finance law, today issued a statement on the Biden administration’s work to develop improved voter registration plans for federal agencies. The statement follows an update issued by the administration on new steps federal agencies are taking to improve voter registration. Klobuchar also called for the administration to continue work to finalize the plans in partnership with Congress and groups with voter registration expertise.

“The freedom to vote is fundamental to all of our freedoms, but people across the country continue to face mounting barriers to participate in our democracy. Earlier this year, 19 of my colleagues and I urged President Biden to take executive actions to strengthen our democracy, and shortly after, he did just that by signing an executive order to bolster voter registration efforts by federal agencies and improve Vote.gov.

“As we continue to work to advance legislation in Congress to protect Americans’ right to vote, action from the executive branch is also vital and I look forward to partnering with the administration as we continue these critical efforts.”

This statement follows an update from the Biden administration on President Biden’s executive order on voting issued in March, which required all federal agencies to submit plans to expand access to voter registration. In February, Klobuchar led 19 of her Senate colleagues in a letter to President Biden urging him to take executive actions to protect our democracy.

Earlier this month, Klobuchar introduced the Freedom to Vote Act, legislation to set basic national standards to make sure all Americans can cast their ballots in the way that works best for them, regardless of what zip code they live in. This bill was developed by the voting rights working group convened by Majority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY) and including Senators Tim Kaine (D-VA), Angus King (I-ME), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Jon Tester (D-MT), and Reverend Raphael Warnock (D-GA) in addition to Klobuchar.

# # #