Russia banned 963 Americans from entering the country including President Biden and other senior officials

MINNEAPOLIS – U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) has been barred from traveling to Russia by the Russian government due to her ongoing support of Ukraine and democracies across the world. 

“Being on Putin’s banned list is a badge of honor. I will never stop standing up for democracy in the face of tyranny,” said Klobuchar.

Klobuchar has been a staunch supporter of Ukraine. This month, she voted to pass a bipartisan aid package that includes roughly $40 billion for munitions, weapons, and training in addition to humanitarian aid for millions of Ukrainian refugees and support for the U.S. government to crack down with sanctions against the Russians. In April, Klobuchar voted to ban oil imports from Russia. 

In January, Klobuchar traveled to Ukraine with a bipartisan group of Senate colleagues to meet with Ukrainian President Zelenskyy and reaffirm the U.S.’ strong bipartisan commitment to a sovereign Ukraine. 

In March, Klobuchar traveled to Poland with a bipartisan group of colleagues where they met with diplomats, military leaders, American soldiers stationed in Poland, Ukrainian refugees, and aid workers.

Klobuchar has actively worked to help Minnesotans affected by Putin’s senseless invasion of Ukraine. In April, she helped secure an expedited visa for the mother of Minnesotan Anna Hansen to leave war torn Kharkiv and reunite with her family in Minnesota. In March, she helped secure the release of Tyler Jacob, a Winona native unjustly detained by Russian forces. Her office worked closely with Tyler’s family, the State Department, and the U.S. Embassy in Moscow to locate Tyler and facilitate his safe return to Minnesota.

In March, Klobuchar also successfully pushed the Biden administration to grant Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for Ukrainians living in the U.S. to prevent them from being forced to return to Ukraine during the ongoing conflict.