Twenty five Minnesota veterans will be honored tonight at the Veterans' Voices Awards ceremony, presented by the Minnesota Humanities Center.

Sen. Amy Klobuchar and Gov. Mark Dayton will speak at the event, held at the University of St. Thomas.

The awards go to vets who have have honorably served and shown exemplary community service.

They are:

Legacy Awardees (age 41 and older)

Steve Campos, Air Force and Air National Guard, Cottage Grove

Thomas D. Cocchiarella, Air Force, Woodbury

State Rep. Bob Dettmer, Army Reserve, Forest Lake

Michael D. Dickinson, Navy, Meadowlands

Ralph Donais. Marine Corps, Elk River

Eddie Frizell, Army, Maple Grove

Khao Insixiengmay, Royal Lao Army/Special Guerrilla Unit, Brooklyn Park

Jim Tuorila, Army, St. Cloud

Joe Vene. Army, Bemidji


On the Rise Awardees (age 40 and under)

Megan Allen, Army National Guard, Ramsey

Carmelo Cruz, Marine Corps, Woodbury

Dajon Ferrell, Army National Guard, Mahtomedi

Scott Glew, Army National Guard, Elk River

Shelby Marie Hadley, Army National Guard, Rice

Joseph Kelly, Army National Guard, St. Paul

Colleen Kelly, Army Reserve, Minneapolis

Daniel Mitcham, Army, Minneapolis

Jason Ous, Army National Guard, Oak Park Heights

Ashley Riester Laganiere, Army National Guard, Farmington

Tyler Sanchez, Marine Corps, Eagan

Josh Savage, Army National Guard, Eagan

Jodi Schipp, Army National Guard, St. Paul

Elizabeth M. Skilbeck,Air Force, Elko

Nick Swaggert, Marine Corps, Chanhassen

Jack Zimmerman, Army, Cleveland