By Katrina Styx, Jordan Independent

After urging Homeland Security Secretary Janet Napolitano and Federal Emergency Management Administration (FEMA) officials to quickly consider Minnesota’s request for expedited federal disaster assistance in areas affected by flood waters, U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar announced that President Obama has granted Minnesota's request for federal disaster assistance in areas affected by flood waters and declared a state of emergency in Minnesota.

“Our local officials, first responders, citizens and volunteers from the region are doing incredible work, but it was clear that we need the full resources of the federal government to support the communities threatened by flood waters,” said Klobuchar. “We have seen the strength of these communities shine through in these difficult days and tonight’s announcement will help these communities with the extensive flooding. I will continue to push for all appropriate federal assistance for our affected communities.”

The Department of Homeland Security, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), is authorized to provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures, authorized under Title V of the Stafford Act, to save lives and to protect property and public health and safety, or to lessen or avert the threat of catastrophe in the designated areas. Specifically, FEMA is authorized to provide emergency protective measures (Category B), including direct Federal assistance, under the Public Assistance program at 75 percent Federal funding.

This assistance is for the counties of Clay, Kittson, Marshall, Norman, Polk, Traverse, and Wilkin.

Last week, Klobuchar, Congressman Collin Peterson and members of the North Dakota congressional delegation met with President Obama to press for help for North Dakota and Minnesota residents hurt by the floods and both offices have been in close contact with local and federal officials in the area.