WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) announced that President Biden has nominated Sylvia Johnson, Steve Owens, and Jennifer Sass to the U.S. Chemical Safety Board (CSB). Biden’s nominations follow a letter led by Klobuchar urging him to prioritize filling the CSB’s vacancies.

“The CSB plays a crucial role in reducing the risk of chemical accidents,” said Klobuchar. “I’m grateful for President Biden’s swift response to my letter, and am confident that the nominees announced this week will bring the expertise necessary to fulfill the CSB’s mission of protecting the environment, the public, and chemical plant workers.”

The CSB currently has a backlog of over 14 investigations dating back to 2016 and more than 100 open safety recommendations that have not been finalized. Authorized in 1990 and operational since 1998, the CSB was designed to be a non-regulatory, independent agency with five board members who would investigate industrial chemical accidents in the United States. Since February 2020, it has been operating with only one board member.

# # #