Historic snowfall, ice, and melting snow caused widespread flooding and significant infrastructure damage across the state, affecting at least 51 counties and four tribal nations in the winter months 

Presidential Disaster Declaration for 51 counties and 4 tribal nations follows a Minnesota Congressional Delegation letter and Governor Tim Walz’s formal request for federal assistance to help these communities rebuild and recover

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) and Tina Smith (D-MN), and Representatives Jim Hagedorn (R-MN-1), Angie Craig (D-MN-2), Dean Phillips (D-MN-3), Betty McCollum (D-MN-4), Ilhan Omar (D-MN-5), Tom Emmer (R-MN-6), and Pete Stauber (R-MN-8) announced today that the President has declared 51 Minnesota counties and 4 tribes eligible for federal disaster aid after they were impacted by devastating storms and flooding.

“This disaster declaration will help communities repair the damage to roads, bridges, and critical infrastructure across Minnesota,” Klobuchar said. “This relief is going to help communities repair the damage to roads, bridges, and critical infrastructure as well as provide support to Minnesotans so they can fully recover from the disaster and move forward with their lives.”

“If you want to help communities recover, you have to rebuild roads and bridges so farms can operate, business’ doors stay open, and people thrive,” Smith said. “This declaration will help ensure that Minnesotans are given access to additional resources to assist with just that.”  

“The Minnesota delegation joined together in a bipartisan fashion to provide emergency aid to Minnesota businesses, farms, families and communities impacted by the disasters that have wreaked havoc across our state,” Hagedorn said. “Minnesotans will do what they always do following natural disasters: join together to rebuild their lives and communities.”

“Folks in my district witnessed firsthand how floodwaters can impact their businesses, health, and quality of life. It is reassuring that Minnesotans will be able access the relief they need to recover and rebuild after this year’s severe storms and floods,” said Craig. “This federal support will not only help Minnesotans address current damage, it will also help us build more resilient communities in the future.”

“As Minnesotans, we’re proud of our hardy work ethic and ability to persevere,” said Phillips. “And when those around us are in need, we band together. Our communities are already in need of infrastructure investments, and storms and flooding have only made things worse. That’s why I’m proud to join our entire federal delegation in support of the families and businesses in Minnesota that were hit hardest by extreme weather this year.”

“Minnesota communities suffering from storm and flood damage desperately need this relief,” McCollum said. “This disaster declaration ensures these communities will receive the help they need to restore and repair the bridges, roads, and other infrastructure necessary for Minnesotans to fully recover and thrive.”

“Communities across our state continue to feel the effects of this winter’s extreme weather,” Omar said. “Hundreds of power lines were downed, thousands lost power, and many families are still without basic necessities. I’m proud our delegation came together to get relief for Minnesotans who are still suffering the impacts of these storms."

“I am pleased that the President and his administration have heard the concerns echoed by the Minnesota Congressional Delegation,” Emmer said. “Minnesotans are strong and hardworking people, and they deserve support from their local and federal government when exigent circumstances leave them in need. This declaration will allow for much needed resources to rebuild and recover to be made available. I am glad the administration has acted upon our request.”

“I’m grateful our letter was able to draw attention to the plight of Minnesotans who have been devastated by storm and flood damage and that President Trump rightfully decided to issue the disaster declaration,” said Stauber. “This disaster declaration is a key step towards communities recovering and rebuilding their roads, bridges, and crucial infrastructure. At moments like this, people need to know that the federal government has their back. I’m proud that the Governor and the entire Minnesota Congressional Delegation could cooperate on this for the betterment of all Minnesotans.”

The declaration covers the following counties and tribal areas: Big Stone, Blue Earth, Brown, Chippewa, Clay, Cottonwood, Dodge, Faribault, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Grant, Houston, Jackson, Kittson, Lac Qui Parle, Le Sueur, Lincoln, Lyon, Mahnomen, Marshall, Martin, McLeod, Mower, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Norman, Olmsted, Pennington, Pipestone, Polk, Ramsey, Red Lake, Redwood, Renville, Rock, Roseau, Scott, Sibley, Steele, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, Wabasha, Waseca, Washington, Watonwan, Wilkin, Winona, and Yellow Medicine Counties and the Prairie Island Indian Community, Red Lake Band of Chippewa, Upper Sioux Community, and the White Earth Nation.