WASHINGTON, DC — U.S. Senators Amy Klobuchar and Al Franken marked another historic championship win by the Minnesota Lynx women’s basketball team by introducing a Senate Resolution congratulating the team. In the resolution, the senators recognized the Lynx’s fourth Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA) Championship in seven years. The resolution also recognized the Twin Cities and the state of Minnesota for their enthusiastic support for the team and women’s professional basketball.

“As just one of two teams to ever win four WNBA Championships, the Minnesota Lynx have shattered records, made history, and established a true sports dynasty,” Klobuchar said. “I congratulate the phenomenal players, coaches, staff, and fans on another incredible season. I’m looking forward to joining all Minnesotans in cheering them on for their drive for five next year!”

“More than 14,000 Minnesota fans saw the Lynx win their fourth WNBA championship in seven years, and I’m proud to help introduce a resolution honoring our team’s success,” Franken said. “This team and its string of championships has been important to Minnesota far beyond the basketball court. For a generation of Minnesota youngsters—especially young girls—this team has served as an inspiration and as an example of what can happen through grit, perseverance, and hard work.” 

Representative Keith Ellison (D-MN) introduced a similar resolution in the House.

With a regular season record of 27-7, the Lynx went on to a hard fought playoff season. After defeating the Washington Mystics, the Lynx faced the Los Angeles Sparks in the finals. This is the fourth WNBA Championship for the Lynx in seven years.

The full text of the resolution is below:

Congratulating the Minnesota Lynx women’s basketball team on winning the 2017 Women’s National Basketball Association championship.

Whereas on October 4, 2017, the Minnesota Lynx won the 2017 Women’s National Basketball Association (referred to in this preamble as the ‘‘WNBA’’) championship;

Whereas this is the fourth national championship that the Minnesota Lynx have won in 7 years;

Whereas the Minnesota Lynx beat the Los Angeles Sparks in game 5 of the WNBA Conference Finals and bested the Washington Mystics in the semifinals;

Whereas the Minnesota Lynx finished the regular season with the best record, 27–7, and earned the top seed;

Whereas the 2017 WNBA Finals made ESPN history by becoming the third-most viewed championship series, averaging 559,000 viewers for the 5-game series;

Whereas attendance for this postseason rose to a high of 9,596 spectators per game, making it the highest-attended WNBA Finals in 7 years, and attracting 10 percent more spectators as compared to last season;

Whereas 14,632 fans attended the sold-out championship game at Williams Arena, known as ‘‘The Barn,’’ in Minneapolis to cheer on the Minnesota Lynx;

Whereas the Minnesota Lynx benefit from the stellar coaching leadership of Head Coach Cheryl Reeve and Assistant Coaches Shelley Patterson, James Wade, and Walt Hopkins;

Whereas the Minnesota Lynx feature 4 world champion and gold medal athletes, including Lindsay Whalen, Maya Moore, Seimone Augustus, and Sylvia Fowles, as well as highly talented professional athletes, including Rebekkah Brunson, Renee Montgomery, Temi Fagbenle, Natasha Howard, Alexis Jones, Jia Perkins, Plenette Pierson, and Cecilia Zandalasini;

Whereas Sylvia Fowles received the 2017 WNBA Finals Most Valuable Player award;

Whereas Rebekkah Brunson is the first WNBA player to win 5 championships; and

Whereas the Minnesota Lynx join the Houston Comets as the only team to win 4 championships, all under the coaching of Head Coach Cheryl Reeve: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the Senate—

(1)  recognizes the achievements of the players, coaches, fans, and staff whose dedication has helped the Minnesota Lynx win the 2017 Women’s National Basketball Association championship; and

(2)  recognizes the Twin Cities area and State of Minnesota for the enthusiastic support of women’s professional basketball.