WASHINGTON — U.S. Senators Amy Klobuchar and Tina Smith announced that the Department of Transportation (DOT) has awarded the Metropolitan Council and Metro Transit $1,250,000 for public transit infrastructure to support development along the 15-mile Rush Line Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) project, a future 15-mile transit route with 21 stations between Union Depot in Lowertown Saint Paul and downtown White Bear Lake that is anticipated to begin service in 2026. The funds will be used to plan with communities for future development along the route.

“This investment will support development along the Rush Line, create good-paying jobs, and spur additional investments in the region’s economy,” Klobuchar said. “The project will help improve access to education, jobs, and health care, and encourage additional economic expansion.”

"A strong public transit system is important for Minnesotans who rely on it to travel to work, school, the doctor and more,” Smith said. “I’m glad that the Department of Transportation is investing in the Rush Line Bus Rapid Transit Project. This proposed 15-mile route will help build-out our transit system, improve connectivity and serve more communities. I will keep pressing for opportunities to improve our state’s infrastructure.”