MINNEAPOLIS - Today, U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) announced a $200,000 federal grant to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety to install carbon monoxide (CO) alarms in homes and a public safety awareness campaign. The funding was authorized by the Klobuchar-led Nicholas and Zachary Burt Memorial Carbon Monoxide Poisoning Prevention Act, named for two young brothers from Kimball, Minnesota, who died from CO poisoning. The bill was signed into law in 2022.

“Carbon monoxide poisoning can be deadly, yet this colorless, odorless gas is far too easily released by many common household items,” said Klobuchar. “That’s why I fought to expand access to lifesaving alarms, equipment, and education. Thanks to my bipartisan legislation with Senator Hoeven that created this federal grant program, the Minnesota Department of Public Safety will be able to enhance our state’s alarm installation program so families in Minnesota can sleep safer.”

According to the Centers for Disease Control, each year, more than 400 Americans die from unintentional CO poisoning not linked to fires, more than 100,000 visit the emergency room, and more than 14,000 are hospitalized.

Klobuchar has long been a leader on carbon monoxide poisoning awareness and prevention. 

Klobuchar and former Senator Olympia Snowe (R-ME) first introduced the Nicholas and Zachary Burt Memorial Carbon Monoxide Poisoning Prevention Act in 2012 to direct the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) to ensure CO detectors are safe and reliable. In addition to encouraging states to require residential CO detection devices, the law authorizes the CPSC to establish a federal grant program to help states, local governments, and Tribal nations install alarms and carry out CO education programs. Klobuchar and Senator John Hoeven (R- ND) reintroduced the legislation in 2021 and it was signed into law in 2022.