WASHINGTON– U.S. Senators Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) and John Hoeven (R- ND) introduced bipartisan legislation to help prevent carbon monoxide-related deaths. The Nicholas and Zachary Burt Memorial Carbon Monoxide Poisoning Prevention Act, named for two young brothers from Kimball, Minnesota who died from carbon monoxide poisoning, would empower the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) to encourage tougher standards to help ensure carbon monoxide detectors are safe and reliable.

“With better, commonsense safeguards in place, we can address the danger of accidental death by carbon monoxide poisoning,” Klobuchar said. “This bipartisan legislation will give families in Minnesota and across the country peace of mind knowing that they are protected from this deadly poison.”

“Carbon monoxide represents a real danger for individuals and families,” Hoeven said. “However, there are concrete ways we can protect against this unseen threat, including for those who are most vulnerable, like children and the elderly. Our legislation would bolster states’ efforts to reduce the risk of carbon monoxide poisoning and help prevent these tragedies in North Dakota and across the nation.”

According to the Center for Disease Control, at least 430 people in the U.S. die each year from carbon monoxide (CO) poisoning and approximately 50,000 people are forced to seek medical attention for accidental CO poisoning. Especially dangerous is the risk of poisoning associated with running an automobile engine in an attached garage or burning charcoal in the house.

Currently, the CPSC has voluntary standards, set by Underwriters Laboratories. The Nicholas and Zachary Burt Memorial Carbon Monoxide Poisoning Prevention Act would authorize the CPSC to provide resources to states to encourage states to require residential CO detection devices and establish a federal grant program to help states carry out a CO education program.