WASHINGTON - U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) and former U.S. Senator Rob Portman (R-OH) were awarded the 2023 Madison Prize for Constitutional Excellence from the American University School of Public Affairs. This award honors lawmakers who recognize the need for compromise and work across the aisle to address the challenges facing our nation. 

“When we put partisanship aside and people first, we see results,” said Klobuchar. “From supporting our veterans and investing in our infrastructure to updating the antiquated Electoral Count Act to ensure that electoral votes for president accurately reflect the will of the people in each state, we’ve passed important bipartisan bills to help address key issues and I’m committed to continuing to work across the aisle. I’ve always been focused on finding common ground that will lead to real progress, and I was honored to receive this award alongside my friend and former colleague Senator Rob Portman.”

“It was an honor to receive American University’s Madison Prize Award along with Senator Klobuchar,” said Portman. “Throughout my time serving in the Executive branch, the House, and Senate, I have learned that the best solutions to the problems we face can be solved by collaborating with each other. It was a privilege to work with colleagues from both parties, in both chambers of Congress who were committed to doing the right thing for the American people, even when it wasn’t the easiest politically. It is important that as a country we get back in the habit of working together to find common ground.” 

“Senators Klobuchar and Portman are both doers – leaders who roll up their sleeves and work to get things done, with a willingness to reach out to others and listen to their points of view even if they disagree,” said American University President Sylvia Burwell. “Throughout their careers in public service, they have achieved common ground and common-sense solutions for the American people. American University is honored to salute their changemaking spirit with the Madison Prize for Constitutional Excellence.”   

The Madison Prize is awarded after the end of each two-year congressional session to recognize one member of Congress from each major political party who best exemplifies respect for the institutional values of Congress and the need for compromise in a democratic society. U.S. Senator Patty Murray (D-WA) and former Senator Lamar Alexander (R-TN) are past recipients of this award.