WASHINGTON - U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), a member of the Senate Commerce Committee, cosponsored the AM for Every Vehicle Act, bipartisan and bicameral legislation that would direct federal regulators to require automakers to maintain AM broadcast radio in their new vehicles at no additional charge. 

“Minnesotans turn to AM radio for everything from emergency alerts and local news to critical updates from our farm broadcasters and entertainment. We can’t let this vital communication tool get phased out by automakers,” said Klobuchar. “I’m working with my colleagues on both sides of the aisle to protect AM radio for the many communities that rely on it.”

Specifically, the AM for Every Vehicle Act would:

  • Direct the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) to issue a rule that requires automakers to maintain AM broadcast radio in their vehicles without a separate or additional payment, fee, or surcharge;
  • Require any automaker that sells vehicles without access to AM broadcast radio before the effective date of the NHTSA regulation to clearly disclose to consumers that the vehicle lacks access to AM broadcast radio; and
  • Direct the Government Accountability Office (GAO) to study whether alternative communication systems could fully replicate the reach and effectiveness of AM broadcast radio for alerting the public to emergencies.

In addition to Klobuchar, the legislation is cosponsored by Senators Ed Markey (D-MA), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Ben Ray Luján (D-NM), J.D. Vance (R-OH), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Roger Marshall (R-KS), and Rick Scott (R-FL). 

The bill is endorsed by FCC Chairwoman Jessica Rosenworcel and Commissioner Nathan Simington, the National Association of Broadcasters, and National Association of Farm Broadcasters.