WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) issued the following statement following the release of Fix the Tix Coalition’s letter expressing support for the Fans First Act. Over 250 artists including Billie Eilish, Cyndi Lauper, Green Day, and more signed the open letter, which urges the Senate Commerce Committee’s consideration of the Fans First Act to improve consumer protections and transparency in ticket sales.  

“Buying a ticket to see your favorite artist in concert is like going through a gauntlet for too many Americans,” said Klobuchar. “This is hurting music fans and it's hurting artists. That’s why our bipartisan legislation to improve the ticketing experience has growing support, including hundreds of major musicians. I will keep working to pass this legislation.”

Klobuchar introduced the Fans First Act with Senator John Cornyn (R-TX) to address flaws in the current live event ticketing system by increasing transparency in ticket sales, protecting consumers from fake or dramatically overpriced tickets, and holding bad actors who engage in illegal ticket sale practices accountable. Other co-sponsors include Senators Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Ben Ray Luján (D-NM), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Peter Welch (D-VT), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), and Mark Kelly (D-AZ).

In 2023, Klobuchar led a Senate Judiciary Committee hearing highlighting the need to promote competition in the ticketing industry to protect consumers. Klobuchar organized this hearing after significant service failures and delays on Ticketmaster’s website in November 2022 left fans unable to purchase concert tickets for Taylor Swift’s new tour.

This legislation is endorsed by the Fix the Tix Coalition, Consumer Reports, National Independent Venue Association, Seattle Theatre Group, Recording Academy, Recording Industry Association of America, National Independent Talent Organization, Eventbrite, Performing Arts Alliance, North American Performing Arts Managers and Agents, International Association of Venue Managers, Songwriters of North America, Americans for the Arts, Americans for the Arts Action Fund, Future of Music Coalition, Artists Rights Alliance, Music Managers Forum, Screen Actors Guild-American Federation of Television and Radio Artists, Association of Performing Arts Professionals, and Open Markets Institute.