WASHINGTON - U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), a member of the Commerce Committee, announced that the bipartisan AM for Every Vehicle Act passed the Committee. The legislation would direct federal regulators to require automakers to maintain AM broadcast radio in their new vehicles at no additional charge. 

“Minnesotans look to AM radio for everything from news and weather updates to music and sports scores. It’s critical to protect AM radio for our communities, but right now, it's on the chopping block,” said Klobuchar. “That’s why I’ve been working to pass the AM for Every Vehicle Act, and now this legislation is one step closer to becoming law.”

Specifically, the AM for Every Vehicle Act would:

  • Direct the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) to issue a rule that requires automakers to maintain AM broadcast radio in their vehicles without a separate or additional payment, fee, or surcharge.

  • Require any automaker that sells vehicles without access to AM broadcast radio before the effective date of the NHTSA regulation to clearly disclose to consumers that the vehicle lacks access to AM broadcast radio.

  • Direct the Government Accountability Office (GAO) to study whether alternative communication systems could fully replicate the reach and effectiveness of AM broadcast radio for alerting the public to emergencies.

In addition to Klobuchar, the legislation is cosponsored by Senators Ed Markey (D-MA), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Ben Ray Luján (D-NM), J.D. Vance (R-OH), Robert Menendez (D-NJ), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Rick Scott (R-FL), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Ted Budd (R-NC), Tina Smith (D-MN), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Jon Ossoff (D-GA), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Jon Tester (D-MT), Steve Daines (R-MT), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Todd Young (R-IN) and Dan Sullivan (R-AK) 

The bill is endorsed by FCC Chairwoman Jessica Rosenworcel and Commissioner Nathan Simington, the National Association of Broadcasters, and National Association of Farm Broadcasters.